Bites & Brews

Beer, Bourbon, and Bacon 2015

As a lover of beer and bacon (can’t really handle my bourbon), I had to go to the Beer, Bourbon, and Bacon Festival at the Dutchess County Fairgrounds in Rhinebeck, New York. My boyfriend and I got VIP passes and exclusive access to several different beers and the grounds before the festival opened to the general public. General admission gets you access to the festival and a beer sampling/souvenir glass. But I’d highly recommend the VIP Experience…

You Get:

  • One Hour Early Admission
  • Exclusive Access to about 10 brews
  • Separate VIP Area
  • Pig Roast! Food Voucher this year included a plate of pulled pork, baked beans, a bacon wrapped cream cheese filled jalapeño, and slaw.
  • Pretty awesome Swag Bag with a growler and other beer related items.


There wasn’t as much bacon at this festival as I would have liked to have, but generally just a lot of pork related products  like this delicious Whiskey Jerky from The Jerky Hut. A friend of mine loved the chocolate covered bacon sticks. This festival was mainly about the beer, which was absolutely fine with me. Most of the beers consisted of IPAs, Stouts, and Lagers. I would have preferred to have more Bocks on deck but for the life of me I couldn’t find one. Then again I have the attention span of a small child when I have a belly full of beer and pulled pork. So anyway, I’ve uploaded the vendor list but here are some of my favorite brews.

#1: Red Betty’s Maple Bacon Ale:

This baby was waiting for us at the very beginning of the fair and provided by WRRV. The bacon and maple flavors were rich without being overwhelming. I had to make this number one because of the great balance of flavor –  light and delicious. Definitely the beer emodiment of Beer Bourbon and Bacon.

*Swiney the Porter was also a delicious option for bacon lovers who aren’t found of ales. At 5.0% ABV 30 IBUs it has a good mix of chocolate, coffee, and bacon. Yummy!

#2: Prairie Artisan Ales BOMB! Imperial Stout:

This was one of the exclusive VIP brews. 13% ABV and one of the best stouts I have ever tasted. You taste it all in here – chocolate, vanilla, espresso,and a hint of ancho chile peppers. The chocolate and coffee flavors are the most prominent. The layers of flavor blew my mind. 

#3: Two Roads Conntucky Lightning Moonshine Insired Ale:

If it was up to my boyfriend this would probably be number one on this list. This beer was Ale aged in bourbon barrels and packs a punch at 8.5%. It was incredibly smooth though with a warm finish. 

#4: Wyder Reposado:

6.9% ABV, Soooo smooth with oak notes and it is aged in tequila barrels. Need I say more? 

#5: Old Bourbon Oak’s Honey Blueberry:

This fruit beer comes in at 4.5% ABV * 15 IBU. Handcrafted in nearby Brewster, NY. The honey and blueberry creates a nice lightly fruity flavor and it smelled like sweet summertime.

   
 
  

   The food vendors at BB&B deserve some love. Especially Handsome Devil BBQ in Newburgh, NY. They created this holy grail of BBQ. I present to you the Hot Mess Cue Cone of deliciousness, filled with pulled pork, brisket, and mac and cheese. My boyfriend and I got the very last bread cones. haha! But seriously, do not run out of these cones next year. $15 a pop was a bit pricey but once again, very worth it.

  

2 thoughts on “Beer, Bourbon, and Bacon 2015

Leave a Reply

