Get Nerdy

Cosplaying at NYCC 2015

This year will be the third year I will be attending New York Comic Con. I started the tradition when I was twenty one, which is also the year I could afford the tickets, train fare, swag, and autographs/photo ops. The first year I met Stan Lee, which I still consider the epitome of my life, at least until I meet Patrick Stewart. For those of you who don’t know, cosplaying is ….

noun: cosplay

  1. 1. 
the practice of dressing up as a character from a movie, book, or video game, especially one from the Japanese genres of manga and anime.

 

I seriously considered constructing a Princess Jasmine Jedi or Princess Jasmine Sith costume in honor of Star Wars: The Force Awakens. It’ll be out on December and NYCC takes place in October, but I am sure Jedi/Sith costumes will be dominating this year. I may in fact change my mind but as of now I have decided to be Bane! I am aware he is a dude but there have been some pretty awesome female Bane cosplay costumes.

bane_cosplay_01  tumblr_me9t7wEBFe1r46tyl

 

This will be an interesting little adventure because I want to put an original spin on this character. I will be going for a Steampunk military Bane. I’ve got a corset, military boots, and green cargo skinny jeans. I will be making a brown leather forearm cuff and the signature Bane facemask in the upcoming weeks.

 

IMG_0928

Leave a Reply

