Get Nerdy

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

                I have finished Samantha Shannon’s debut novel, The Bone Season! This is her first novel in a projected seven book series. Film rights have already been sold to a studio. Mark my words: this series is the next big thing in supernatural literature. I will try my best to leave out any spoilers and just give you the essentials. This series is about the illegal and oppressed clairvoyant population in a dystopian futuristic society. There is, of course, a love interest for the very strong female protagonist, Paige Mahoney. Readers, who worshipped series like Harry Potter and The Hunger Games, will fall in love with this fresh, imaginative new author. Shannon also signed with the same publisher who is responsible for J.K. Rowling’s series, causing many to dub Shannon ‘the next Rowling.’ I would agree with that title and trust me I have given this a lot of thought because not many (almost no one) can compare to her in my opinion. I’ve also been relatively disappointed with a lot of young adult series but this one is very promising.
                One of the reasons I think this is will be the next big fandom is because of Shannon’s originality. The love interest of the young protagonist doesn’t take center stage (Yes! Finally!) although it is important, the structure of the dystopian society is complex but intriguing, and the characters (both human and otherwise) completely captivate the reader. I also love the fact that there are a lot of different directions this story can go. Additionally, the problems presented in the story line can be paralleled to modern issues like racism, political corruption, poverty, and environmental destruction – just to name a few. Well, I need to stop rambling on and order the second book in this series, The Mime Order, which was released in January of this year.

   Also, I just HAVE to mention the fact that Samantha was like 20 or 21 when she published The Bone Season. She’s just a year older than me, I have to say my confidence as a writer has taken a hit but damn do I love seeing females doing their thing! Hashtag girl power.

Leave a Reply

