Bites & Brews

Hudson River Craft Beer Festival

This past Saturday, my boyfriend and I attended the Hudson River Craft Beer Festival in Beacon, New York. I had an absolute blast sampling a ton of beers from over 85 breweries! I also had a chance to chow down on some BBQ from Handsome Devils BBQ in Newburgh. They created The Beast BBQ Sandwich especially for this event and I was not disappointed. I made sure to try it out before getting sloshed just so my judgment wouldn’t be swayed by my tipsy taste buds. It was an incredible (and a bit messy) experience. The Beast consisted of burnt brisket ends in a molasses BBQ sauce topped with spicy coleslaw. I don’t even like coleslaw and I would devour a plate of this in a minute.

Love at first bite
Love At First Bite

Well, onto the beers! Here are my top picks from the festival.

Favorite Pumpkin Flavored Beer: Curious Traveler’s Jack O’ Travelers

Favorite Stout: White Sow Chocolate Stout

Favorite Hybrid: Saranac’s Clouded Dream (IPA/Belgian White Ale)

Favorite Pilsner: 2 Way Brewing Company‘s Confusion Beer

I also have to throw in my boyfriend’s favorite from the festival, Abita’s Maple Pecan Nut Brown Ale. I sampled this brew as well and I found it a bit too strong for it to be enjoyable. It is aged in bourbon barrels and packs a punch that I could not handle. I would highly recommend it for bourbon lovers.

IMG_0065
View of the Hudson From the Outskirts of the Park

5 thoughts on “Hudson River Craft Beer Festival

Leave a Reply

