Writer's Life

Writing Exercise: Love Personified

I first came across Sarah Kay and Phil Kaye on Button Poetry’s Facebook. They are both incredible spoken word poets. Their poem, “When Love Arrives” brought me to tears the first time I saw it. They both use personification to create a wonderful web of stories that describe their ideas of love and their experiences with it throughout the years. My favorite line is,

“Maybe love stays. Maybe love cant. Maybe love shouldn’t”

It is so simple yet powerful. Sarah and Phil move from the general (like the example above) to the specific (they name physical traits and habits of past lovers). But I’ll discuss that more later.

Check out the video here.

old-1130743_1280

By using similes and metaphors to personify love, an interesting dynamic comes into play, creatively speaking. Like I said earlier, they combine general and specific statements about love to essentially create ONE dynamic character each. As a writer, a light bulb should be going off in your head now. What are your experiences with love? How would you define them?

 

Writing Prompt: Love Personified

After watching “When Love Arrives” by Sarah Kay and Phil Kaye and reading my example down below, write your own prose piece or poem on what love has been, is, and/or will be, to you.

Be Brave! This is an extremely personal writing challenge. It’s okay to feel nervous but I would encourage you to really dig deep and open up. Don’t filter yourself here! Remember, you are combining all these experiences into ONE character named Love! You had so much freedom because you’re not putting one face or one name to this character. You can start with the first boy or girl you kissed and skip over to your high school sweetheart. No names. Just Love.

A few other things to keep in mind:

  • You can whittle it down to details or go general or both.
  • You can focus on only good memories/details or bad ones, or keep a balance.
  • You can use quotes (Think of things people have said about love or things you’ve heard or said to someone you love).

 

 

My Mosaic Love

By Daniela Velez

Love sat down next to me in fourth grade. I knew it was love because he began reading my favorite Goosebumps book. But I was too shy to talk to him. It didn’t matter though because Love was also in every story of every book that I could get my hands on.

When I turned seventeen I thought Love was supposed to play varsity football and have perfect hair. I almost missed him completely, because he showed up in a leather jacket and had dropped out of high school a year before I would. Love became thrilling and complicated. Love and I fought too much. Love kept me in the dark, desperately looking at the shooting stars while stumbling through a minefield. Love sometimes felt like the end of the world but I knew it would begin again in the morning, if I navigated carefully. But it didn’t make a difference. Love tore me apart from the ground up. Love moved to Florida with someone else. Determined, I gave Love up. I lived without Love for awhile. I avoided him like the plague and spit in Love’s face when it got too close to me. Right when I was happy and content without him he showed up.

At first, I didn’t recognize him. He showed up on an App. No not Tinder but Trivia Crack. Love knew so much about sports and science and history, he ended my winning streak and I was upset. I told Love what he had done and demanded he buy me dinner to make up for it. He took me to Barnes & Noble instead. That was when I realized Love would always be not a click away, but around the corner. Love left a lot of cracks. He gave me everything I needed, but took pieces of me in exchange. Love whispered in my ear that he couldn’t make up for anything that I already lack. Then he said goodbye and added, you’ll be the most beautiful mosaic when I come back.

Leave a Reply

